Romperayo - ST LP CREP20


Psychedelic cumbia discharges from Bogota, Colombia.

Romperayo reunites percussion heavyweights Pedro Ojeda from projects such as Los Pirañas, Frente Cumbiero, Ondatrópica and Chupame El Dedo (also on discrepant), on drums, percussion and timbales; Eblis Alvarez from worldwide acclaimed bands Meridian Brothers and Los Pirañas, on samplers and synths; Ricardo Gallo, virtuoso organist and pianist on synthesizers and Juan Manuel Toro, renowned bassist and composer, on bass.

As a sound Romperayo is a fast moving musical journey through Colombian tropical folklore, a mischievous and modern interpretation of the up-tempo rhythms of “Descarga” and the psychedelic sounds of ’70s cumbia. By cleverly incorporating urban sounds and sampling techniques into the tropical music of the past decades, Romperayo embodies Colombia’s modern folklore scene.

All direct orders receive a digital download in your choice of format. This is available once the physical records ship. You can also purchase the digital download separately.


  1. A1. Alegria por un zumo de naranja con panela
  2. A2. Tuntuna rebajada
  3. A3. El del moño rojo
  4. A4. Icoro palenquero
  5. A5. El lamento de la burra
  6. A6. Tradición destructiva
  7. B1. 17 tazas de cafe por la mañana
  8. B2. Dando vueltas en ovni
  9. B3. Anibal, vúelvelo a meter
  10. B4. Afterparis en colegios
  11. B5. Diadema para Catalina
  12. B6. La linerna del Repele

Pressing Information

Released on 28th August 2015
Artwork by Colombian artist Mateo Rivano
Cut and Pressed at Optimal
500 units, black vinyl