Tiago Sousa - Um Piano Nas Barricadas CREP23


Discrepant presents Tiago Sousa's brand new LP with collaborations from Tó Trips, Ricardo Ribeiro, Balthazar Molina and Rebecca Roth.

''Since his first release (Crepúsculo in 2006) Tiago Sousa has been consistently developing his very own aesthetics; through his relatively large body of work, we can identify an artist on the search for his own expression and identity. Um Piano nas Barricadas (trans. A Piano in the barricades) follows three largely successful endeavours, both centred on the piano: Insónia, Walden Pond’s Monk and Samsara. In between those and this new release, Tiago has been working in the original soundtrack for portuguese short movie Bibliografia (included in this LP) as well as big performance theatre piece, O Coro das Vontades.''
Expect a unique work by one of the most interesting and intriguing musicians to come out of the burgeoning Portuguese music scene.

''I lean back and let this one float over me — solo piano, hovering somewhere between dissonance and enlightenment, There is birth, there is death and then there is rebirth. '' Tiny mixtapes

''Can anything new be said with the same 88 keys? Apparently, yes.'' A Closer Listen

''Sophisticated and emotive solo piano composition.'' Boomkat

''A rich, penetrating silence can give instruments a clean canvas to work upon, but if illuminated properly it can also create nuanced tension and give an unmistakable depth to recordings.'' Experimedia


  1. Bibliografia Theme
  2. Prelúdio no1
  3. Imprevisto no3
  4. Imprevisto no4
  5. A conquista do pao
  6. Pendulo
  7. Almograve
  8. Insonia

Pressing Information

Released on 26th February 2016
Vinyl pressing to 500 copies
Mastered & Cut at Dubplate @ Mastering by Rashad Becker